list of copa america winners

Copa America Championship :

Copa America, the tournament was played throughout the year in all 10 participating nations, for countries in South America ,with defending champions Uruguay receiving a bye into the semi-final. Peru won the first rebranded championship.

Winner Of 2021 :

Lionel Messi’s Argentina beat Brazil 1-0 in Sunday’s Copa America final to secure the national team’s first title in 28 years and the superstar’s first major international trophy. Argentina beats Brazil 1-0; Messi wins 1st Major title.


Eight of the ten CONMEBOL national teams have won the tournament at least once in its 47 staging’s since the event’s inauguration in 1916, with only Ecuador and Venezuela yet to win. Argentina and Uruguay have the most championships in the tournament’s history, with 15 cups each. Argentina, which hosted the inaugural edition in 1916, has hosted the tournament the most times (nine). The United States is the only non-CONMEBOL country to host, having hosted the event in 2016. 

Mascot of Copa America :

Pibe was the official mascot of the 2021 Copa América held in Brazil, making it the 14th officially selected mascot in Copa América history.


Each Copa América since 2005 has had its own mascot or logo. Gardelito, the mascot for the 1987 competition, was the first Copa América masc.

History of Copa America :

Starting in 1916 as the South American Football Championship, it is also the oldest running football tournament in the world and has been contested 47 times. During the early years, the tournament followed an erratic timetable and was played between just four nations – Argentina, Brazil, Chile and Uruguay.

 During this period, some of the national teams were indifferent to the tournament. Some did not participate every year, others sent lesser teams; in the 1959 edition held in Ecuador, Brazil entered a team from the state of Pernambuco. Bolivia won for the first time when it hosted in 1963, but was defeated in the first game of the 1967 tournament by debutant Venezuela. The founding of the Copa Libertadores in 1959 also affected the way the tournament was viewed by its participants.

After eight years of absence, the event resumed in 1975 and officially acquired the name Copa America. The tournament had no fixed venue, and all matches were played throughout the year in each country. Nine teams participated in the group stages with the defending champions receiving a bye into the semifinals. The tournament was contested every four years using this system until 1987.

Host of Copa America :

1984, CONMEBOL adopted the policy of rotating the right to host the Copa América amongst the ten member confederations. The first rotation was completed following the 2007 Copa América which took place in Venezuela. A second rotation commenced in 2011, with host countries rotating in alphabetical order, starting with Argentina. Chile, Mexico and the United States expressed interest in hosting the next tournament,

                  In March 2012, it was announced that Chile would be hosting the 2015 Copa América, after CBF president Ricardo Teixeira resigned from his position and the CBF agreed to swap the tournament’s hosting with Chile. The swap was made official in May 2012. The centennial edition of the tournament, Copa América Centenario, took place in June 2016, and was held in the United States.

Trophy :


The current Copa América trophy was purchased in 1916 from “Casa Escasany”, a jewelry shop in Buenos Aires, at the cost of 3,000 Swiss francs. Apart from the main trophy, the “Copa Bolivia” (a small trophy made in silver) has been awarded to the runner-up of the competition since the 1997 edition. The trophy is named after the country that hosted the 1997 Copa América, with a small Bolivian flag attached on one of its sides.

List of Copa America Winners :

One thought on “List Of Copa America Winners”
  1. Very good n informative post. Thnks for sharing the complete topic, it’s history, winners list etc, of Copa America

Comments are closed.